In this view of the island from the 1950’s we can see several interesting changes that have happened here over the years. First off, the is indeed an island, with no connection to the mainland. The island was dependent on a fleet of boats to ferry everything and everyone from Henderson Harbor, some of which […]
http://www.hendersonhistoricalsociety.com/ Henderson Heritage Day & Juried Craft Show Saturday–August 11, 2018 9 AM to 3 PM Crafters-Food-Entertainment Hospice Walk-a-thon 8:30 AM Flag Ceremony 8:45 AM Tours of the Historic Buildings Silent Auction-9 AM to 2:15 PM Family Scavenger Hunt 9 AM to 2:15 PM Genealogist is in-9 AM to Noon Puppet Show 11 AM Music by “Tom 24” Ventiquattro Special […]
In the years that Association Island was operated by the YMCA, the Black Catte Café served up more family-friendly beverages than it did when General Electric was here. In this photo from the 1960's we see campers enjoying some cool refreshments at the bar-turned-lunch counter. For more on the rich history of the island, read […]
When General Electric operated Association Island, they maintained an entire fleet of boats. It was necessary, as there was no road access in those days so everything and everyone needed to be transported across the bay from Henderson Harbor. Pictured here are the two largest ferry boats of the fleet, the Islander II and the […]
Happy 4th of July from Association Island!
The Black Catte Café was built as a bar and restaurant over 75 years ago. In this photo from 1940 we see many campers enjoying a break from the daily activities that General Electric had available to them. The wild carousing that took place at the bar is legendary, and helped cement the island's reputation […]
During the time that General Electric operated their retreats at Association Island, meetings would be held in the shade of this enormous elm tree, seen in this post card from 1954, where executives and common workers could freely discuss the issues of the day. This is also where the Elfun Society was created as a […]
We are have a New You Tube Channel for Association Island. Our First Video Showcases the History of Association Island and the Renovation to a Campground.
The Drive across the Causeway is spectacular!
The causeway was eventually built in 1968 by the YMCA.